Federated States of Micronesia State of Chuuk State of Kosrae State of Pohnpei State of Yap
Legal Information System of the FSM - Home Page
FSM National Gov't.
  • Constitution
  • Code
  • Sup. Court Decisions
  • Sup. Court Rules
  • Regulations

    State of Chuuk

    State of Kosrae

    State of Pohnpei

    State of Yap

    Compact of Free Association

    Other Gov't. Authority Documents

    Search the LIS web site

    Related Links

    Contact the LIS Project


          The Supreme Court of the Federated States of Micronesia is the highest national court and court of last resort of the FSM whose primary job is to interpret the FSM Constitution and laws of the nation.  The FSM Supreme Court has both trial and appellate jurisdiction.  See Art. XI of the FSM Constitution .  An article on "The Supreme Court of the Federated States of Micronesia -- The First Twenty-Five Years" provides an in-depth look at the FSM Supreme Court.

         The Justices of the FSM Supreme Court are:
    Chief Justice (Sitting in Pohnpei):
    The Honorable Andon L. Amaraich
    Associate Justice (Sitting in Yap):
    The Honorable Martin G. Yinug
    Associate Justice (Sitting in Pohnpei & Kosrae):
    The Honorable Dennis K. Yamase
    Associate Justice (Sitting in Chuuk):
    The Honorable Ready E. Johnny
         The key staff of the FSM Supreme Court are as follows:
    Chief Clerk of Courts:   Mr. Kohsak Keller
    Director of Administration:  Mr. Kapilly Capelle
    General Counsel:  Mr. Craig Reffner, Esq.   
    Staff Attorneys - Pohnpei:  Mr. Ben Weber, Esq.
    Staff Attorney - Chuuk:  Mr. Larry Wentworth, Esq.
    Staff Attorney - Yap:  Mr. Daniel C. Thornton, Esq.
    Justice Ombudsmen
          National:  Mr. John William
          Chuuk:  Mr. Harry Narruhn
          Kosrae:  Mr. Marris Jackson
          Pohnpei:  Mr. Belan Yoma
          Yap:  Mr. Fidelis Thiyer
    Librarian:  Mr. Atarino Helieisar
    Webmaster:  Israel Yoshinobu
         The FSM Supreme Court along with state courts have established a draft Judicial Education Development Plan (JEDP) for 2008 to 2017 for the training of the judiciaries judges and court staff.  As of July 1, 2008, this draft JEDP is pending approval of the state and national chief justices.
         The FSM Supreme Court has offices and courthouses in each state.  You can contact the FSM Supreme Court at the following addresses and telephone and FAX numbers:
    FSM Supreme Court - Pohnpei (at the National Capitol)
    P.O. Box PS-J - Palikir Station
    Pohnpei  FM  96941
    Ph. Nos.:  (691) 320-2357/2763/2764
    FAX No.:  (691) 320-2756
    FSM Supreme Court - Kosrae
    P.O. Box PS-J
    Kosrae  FM  96944
    Ph. Nos.:  (691) 370-3185
    FAX No.:  (691) 370-2080
    FSM Supreme Court - Chuuk
    P.O. Box 601
    Chuuk  FM  96942
    Ph. Nos.:  (691) 330-2396/2908
    FAX No.:  (691) 330-4126
    FSM Supreme Court - Yap
    P.O. Box 546
    Colonia, Yap  FM  96943
    Ph. Nos.:  (691) 350-2169
    FAX No.:  (691) 350-2336
         The following selected court rules are the basic procedural rules for the Supreme Court of the Federated States of Micronesia.
         Any discrepancies or differences in the text of these rules should be resolved in favor of the rules as officially distributed by the Supreme Court of the Federated States of Micronesia.
        Court rules are often subject to change or amendment by general court order.  Therefore, users of these court rules are advised to check with the FSM Supreme Court for any changes or amendments to these rules prior to utilizing them.
         Certain word processing characters and certain formats such as indents, tabs, and block quotes may not have translated cleanly into "html" format.  The LIS Project may have also undertaken some minor format editing to improve the readability of these rules on this web site.  Therefore, the appearance of these rules may differ slightly from the hard copy rules as distributed by the FSM Supreme Court.  Please see the Disclaimer page of this web site for more information.
         For more information on these or other court rules for the Federated States of Micronesia, please contact the Supreme Court of the Federated States of Micronesia.


    zzw#24qz zz 1Vb^\^zʾz;,CYZ`Zb:Az=)-[=@y(Bn؈8\Gr% 4U568   әs]kTlD0‚:]o뵖0T7%c'  ~ UY%U +-&%_2c㪆~f}*P-%.-ĉKﺕꯉq ODi&/$%u*"(w')m#02786tyQ¶v{}\chnòԤt벌} M_W2ЗY蹞_`KAO+렱V\`nemqpȷINQfyyBFJcCGKcǹ=BCb`ahlt.#;U~꼜߫ɋTb.ĸ;đgtRF9  01fzҢv`r8~o-SjAIY\y {wLJ<=G  T`;ȷ3gF` ֿn{UD` 3~`Pl'mVm` +4`"A/̺e.d e{L&`AN1\b~`Up`]. !aC `.#` dhbaaca8 GZ`kr/cF@ Bo t ] :ar@fU /v~~ z1 /pHʺ#d61pT  y*/ p   _??5 q 0^ G/L #  00vS&00  Wr=/$qdSـ^jq_3L5 {0~H" 911k/Ȫ#/0^qu p ?{  e1 c/Bp"̻ Ҁd1 p< + r 'fU  ppjM #3 /_J0~# 1Pk 00 plr;  }\ c1 2.SdɰSFFv @ pw |*>/1G4gxq1>zuFyp%~ 1 __/cw_9h-p S9 1/F4pG0d|K_0/ c/qq/IBtɹ4g#'=ACIȻ__a___3Bߴ_.^oA.X/4g__F/¿g_D_/C_/_\_!??*